2012 Longlist Announcement: Litro & IGGY International Short Story Award for Young Writers

We apologise for the delay in announcing this year’s longlist, dominated by writers from UK, USA, and Canada, but also from France, China, the Philippines, Nigeria, South Africa, Ghana, Uganda, and Kenya. Congratulations to these young writers (in no particular order):

*          *          *

Atussa Hamamoto Mohtasham “Blue Anthills”

Isobel Hall “Flowers”

Bojosi Morule “Funeral Pilgrims”

Kashala Whittingham “Hide and Seek”

Fego Martins Ahia “Memory of a Distant Country”

Sophie Drukman-Feldstein “People of the Sunrise”

Julia Marie Santos “Point of View”

Megan Evetts “Salt”

Rhiannon Shepherd “Shattered Glass”

Lin Wang “The Man Who Had Everything”

Zamzam Ahmed Mohammed “The Noor of My Heart”

Jessica Frost “Villa Miseria”

Ige Abimbola “Before We Call Them Monsters”

Jessica Brown “Colour of a Picture”

Lindsey Nkem “I Hope There’s WiFi in Heaven”

Hannah Campling  “Keep Calm and Carry On”

Moshood Folorunsho Aremu “The Choice”

Marc Richard “The Flag with No Nation”

Fiona Wing Fung Tam “Celia”

Anne-Eléonore Deleersnyder “Broken-Winged”

Susan Piwang “Lost Magic”

Jess Ball “Brothers”

Molly Clark “Rencontre”

Phoebe Hamilton-Jones “Footprints”

*          *          *

The shortlist will be announced on 14 September.

So, longlistee, which were you?
IGGY is Warwick University’s International Gateway for Gifted Youth. Visit their new website at www.iggy.net.


One comment

Leave a Comment